Breaking News

KAT Country ACM Predictions

The DJs of KAT Country don’t claim to be experts at predicting, well, anything… but when has that ever stopped us before? Here’s our predictions for Sunday’s ACM Awards.

Entertainer of the Year – George Strait

Kevin Hilley: George Strait – A sentimental choice but a good one, nonetheless.

Erin Hart: George Strait – King George’s final tour, most awards shows are going to give him recognition. Besides, the man DESERVES it.

Dave Patrick: George Strait – Do you have to ask why?

Jay Walker: George Strait – Not going out without one more.


Male Vocalist of the Year – Jason Aldean

Kevin Hilley: Blake Shelton – The guy can just do no wrong this year.

Erin Hart: Luke Bryan – FEMALES LOVE HIM and his fans are rabid (Editor’s note: Erin is not saying Luke’s fans are literally rabid. There aren’t any known clinical cases of frothing at the mouth at his shows.) He is at a point in his career where he can musically do no wrong.

Dave Patrick: Luke Bryan – Seems like the guy’s collaborated on hit after hit with artist after artist, and then throw HIS songs into the mix? Game over.

Jay Walker: Blake Shelton… he’s had too big of a year to be denied.


Female Vocalist of the Year – Miranda Lambert

Kevin Hilley: Miranda Lambert – Because her husband has promised to break legs if they don’t go home with dual awards.

Erin Hart: Miranda Lambert – Strongest contender in the entire category. Continues to keep making killer music.

Dave Patrick: I could see a Kacey Musgraves win here, but the more likely outcome is Miranda Lambert.

Jay Walker: Debating between Kacey Musgraves and Miranda Lambert, Kacey is the ACM darlin’ but Miranda has had a big year…..Gotta go with Miranda.


Vocal Duo of the Year – Florida Georgia Line

Kevin Hilley: Florida Georgia Line – First Brooks & Dunn retired and Montgomery Gentry said, “Finally, we got this!” Then Sugarland broke up and Montgomery Gentry said, “For sure this time!” Um, someone want to break the news to Eddie and Troy?

Erin Hart: Florida Georgia Line – Everyone was cranking FGL from their vehicles all last summer and the trend continues.

Dave Patrick: Does the recent success of Thompson Square’s “Everything I Shouldn’t Be Thinking About” outweigh the monster roll that FGL has been on? Maybe… but probably not. Florida Georgia Line

Jay Walker: Tight between Thompson Square and Florida Georgia Line…going for the upset win with Thompson Square.


Vocal Group of the Year – The Band Perry

Kevin Hilley: The Band Perry – And of course, my pick has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that Kimberly is ravishingly gorgeous. Nothing at all…

Erin Hart: The Band Perry – Consistently produces songs that you can’t get out of your head.

Dave Patrick: You could make a case for any of these groups. Anybody got a 5-sided coin? Let’s say Lady Antebellum.

Jay Walker: Toughest category to call… all are good and had good years… goin’ with Eli Young Band…just got a hunch.


Album of the Year – Same Trailer Different Park – Kacey Musgraves

Kevin Hilley: Here’s to the Good Times – Florida Georgia Line – Gonna be hard to follow up on this album. Deserving of every honor.

Erin Hart: Crash My Party – Luke Bryan – Read Luke comment above. No guys that I know own this album – too lazy to download or buy. Every woman I know has this album.

Dave Patrick: Another tough category. I probably wouldn’t have an issue with any of these albums taking the trophy. But I have to choose, soooooo… Here’s to the Good Times – Florida Georgia Line

Jay Walker: Between Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton… Luke will have to wait another year… Based on a True Story – Blake Shelton.


Song of the Year – “I Drive Your Truck” (Lee Brice)

Kevin Hilley: “I Drive Your Truck” (Lee Brice) – Gary Allan’s gonna give him a run for his money but “Truck” is songwriting gold.

Erin Hart: “Wagon Wheel” (Darius Rucker with Lady Antebellum) – A happy tune that no one could escape, no matter how hard you tried.

Dave Patrick: I think this is a three-horse race including “Wagon Wheel” and “Mama’s Broken Heart”, but I gotta give it to “I Drive Your Truck” (Lee Brice).

Jay Walker: “Mama’s Broken Heart” (Miranda Lambert)


Single of the Year – “Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert

Kevin Hilley: “Cruise” – Florida Georgia Line – But let’s be clear, I’m voting for the NON-NELLY version of the song.

Erin Hart: “Cruise” – Florida Georgia Line – Everyone’s ”Summer 2013” anthem.

Dave Patrick: “Cruise” – Florida Georgia Line – People were still singing “You make me wanna roll my windows down” when the temperature dipped below zero and my dog was completely submerged in a snow drift. That’s impressive.

Jay Walker: “I Drive Your Truck” – Lee Brice


Vocal Event of the Year – “We Were Us” – Keith Urban & Miranda Lambert

Kevin Hilley: “Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw, Keith Urban & Taylor Swift – Too many stars and too great a song for anyone else to take this.

Erin Hart: “Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift, & Keith Urban – Great song, powerful lyrics and amazing video.

Dave Patrick: “Wagon Wheel” – Darius Rucker ft. Lady Antebellum – Sometimes it’s less about giving a reason why a nominee should win, and more about not being able to come up with a reason for any other nominee to win. I swear that made sense in my head.

Jay Walker: “Boys ‘Round Here” – Blake Shelton ft. Pistol Annies


Video of the Year – “Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift, & Keith Urban

Kevin Hilley: “Two Black Cadillacs” – Carrie Underwood – Because we all enjoyed seeing our Carrie go from Maria Von Trapp to a deranged killer.

Erin Hart: “Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert – This should be a no-brainer. Fun, bright, slightly demented video. Hands down, my favorite of  the year.

Dave Patrick: The star power of Tim, Keith, and Taylor is not enough to get it done. “Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert.

Jay Walker: “I Drive Your Truck” – Lee Brice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *