Breaking News

ACM Winners

Last night was THE night!

The ACM Awards was a fun, upbeat night! Reba emceed the evening for the 15th time and it was a lighthearted show! Lots of great performances and memorable moments like:

  • Kenny Chesney kicked off the fun with the television debut of the song “Get Along.”
  • Maren Morris gave a spirited performance of “Rich” wearing, aptly, a golden gown.
  • With 10 no, 1 singles under his belt, a confident Chris Young brought a soulful, stripped-down version of “Losing Sleep” to the stage, his vocals accompanied only by two guitars.
  • Florida Georgia Line and Bebe Rexha performed a dazzling “Meant To Be,” against a starry backdrop and swaying backup singers.
  • Brett Young, who won for the Award for New Male Vocalist, performed “In Case You Didn’t Know.”
  • Alan Jackson and Jon Pardi had everyone singing with an infectious toe-tapping rendition of “Chattahoochee.”
  • Lady Antebellum delivered a heartfelt “Heart Break.”
  • Dierks Bentley, in all black delivered a rock n’ roll rendition of “Woman, Amen,” against a backdrop of black and white photos of real, strong women. Then he clinched it by descending from the stage to embrace his wife Cassidy Black. 
  • Blake Shelton performed a thoughtful, nostalgic rendition of “I Lived It.”
  • Kane Brown featuring Lauren Alaina sang “What Ifs” against a blue sky, thrashing ocean, amid swirling mist. Afterwards, they introduced a segment about ACM Lifting Lives, a philanthropic arm of the ACM that has been instrumental in the recovery following the Las Vegas shooting.
  • Keith Urban sang and swayed his way through a theatrical “Coming Home,” with the lyrics written over filmed scenes of life on the road, urban landscapes, a hand strumming a guitar, ocean vistas and embracing friends and family. Julia Michaels joined him onstage.
  • Kelsea Ballerini was lowered down to the stage from the ceiling in a neon heart to perform “I Hate Love Songs,” and stripping off her sparkling pink ball-gown mid-song in favor of a bedazzled jeans, a white tank and white hi-tops as rose petals descended.
  • Jason Aldean sang “You Make It Easy.”
  • Miranda Lambert performs a fiery “Keeper of the Flame” as multiple forms of explosive spark shot forth from the stage.
  • Little Big Town played their eerie, exquisite countrified take on the Elton John classic “Rocket Man,” all while wearing equally compelling and otherworldly sequined suits and furs in front of extraterrestrial scenes.
  • Blake Shelton and Toby Keith kicked it old school with “Should’ve Been a Cowboy.”  The audience was definitely there for it, singing along, dancing and guzzling brews.
  • After winning New Vocal Group, Midland got up to sing “Drinkin’ Problem.”
  • Carrie Underwood looked more stunning—and confident—than ever performing “Cry Pretty.” She got a standing ovation.
  • Dan + Shay perform an acoustic “Tequila” with a lot of help from backup singers and the audience.
  • Darius Rucker sang “For the First Time.”
  • Thomas Rhett delivered a heartfelt “Marry Me.”
  • Luke Bryan brought an uplifting “Most People Are Good.”
  • New female vocalist of the year Lauren Alaina performs an enthusiastic “Doin’ Fine.”
  • Kelly Clarkson steps up to introduce mother-in-law Reba McEntire for a mesmerizing rendition of “Does He Love You.” Clarkson then joins her onstage and the pair sing the sultry number, pulling off what could be a weirdly tense duet considering their IRL relationship, with their trademark grace. 
  • Chris Janson closes out the broadcast with a rocking rendition of “Redneck Life.”

Of course, there were lots of awards! Congratulations to all the winners!

  • Entertainer of the year: Jason Aldean
  • Male vocalist of the year: Chris Stapleton
  • Single record of the year: “Body Like a Back Road” by Sam Hunt
  • Female vocalist of the year: Miranda Lambert
  • Vocal event of the year: “The Fighter” by Keith Urban
  • Vocal group of the year: Old Dominion
  • Album of the year: “From a Room: Vol. 1” by Chris Stapleton
  • Song of the year: “Tin Man” by Miranda Lambert
  • New female vocalist of the year: Lauren Alaina
  • New male vocalist of the year: Brett Young
  • New vocal duo or group of the year: Midland
  • Songwriter of the year: Rhett Akins


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *